The ‘V’ Word – My guest post in The Jellied Eel magazine

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.29.29

For issue 49 of The Jellied Eel magazine, I was asked to write my side of the argument as to whether we should avoid using the word ‘vegan’ and instead use terms such as ‘plant-based.’ As I recently weighed in on someone else’s for/against argument, I thought I would share mine, too. It’s only fair!

In my opinion, the word vegan isn’t anything to be scared of, let’s call it what it is. No need to over-complicate things.

The term plant-based gives the impression that it is a diet of mainly plants, but as it is only ‘based’ on that, you could include whatever you want. For me, this isn’t the case so the label ‘plant-based’ doesn’t cover it. I don’t eat, drink, wear or use anything that comes from an animal. At all. So, for me, vegan fits better.

I understand the ‘against’ point of view, put forward by Anna, that by using a less intimidating label, it may encourage more people to shift to a more plant-based (there’s that term again!) way of life, as undoubtedly the word vegan can conjure up certain stereotypical images which put people off straight away. But I think that by not using it, we are only making it out to be more of a bad word!

Anyway, here is the article, see what you think…

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.48.19

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.48.02

Leave a Reply

