Accountabili-buddies. The best thing since sliced bread. 

img_6033We’re about the same standard of runner. We have similar goals in terms of distances and race times. And now we are holding each other to account. And it’s working.

Sara and I both went to our very first club run with our running club, Mornington Chasers, on the same night. It was a spooky Halloween run through Hampstead Heath with head torches. Being the newbies, we stuck together and chatted the whole way. Turns out, we have a lot in common. We live close by to each other, she’s veggie and I’m vegan, we’re each the youngest of our siblings, we did our first marathons about the same time…it goes on. It was the start of a beautiful friendship.

We had each signed up to our next marathon and coincidentally they are taking place on the same day on 29th May. Sara will be pounding the streets of Edinburgh and I’ll be in Liverpool, rocking and rolling.

We decided that as our training would be similar and our goal date the same that we would hold each other to account and not let the other back out of training.

When I wasn’t feeling like training one night, Sara encouraged me to go and even hung around after work to meet me and get the tube together straight to the track so I didn’t have the chance to go home first and disappear for an evening of Netflix and nakd bars! Left to my own devices, I certainly would’ve done.

This morning we decided to meet at 6.30am for a 10k. It was a glorious morning but it was still hard when the alarm went off at 5.55am to get up. If nobody was waiting for me, I certainly would’ve snoozed. And snoozed. But knowing I was meeting Sara and she would be waiting, I got up and got on with it.

Sara wasn’t feeling great either but she turned up and we ran as planned. Later in the morning I got the following message from her ‘Thank you sooooooo much for coming this morning as I really would have not made it on my own ha ha!!!’ 

Having a training partner, or an accountabili-buddy, really does help with motivation and keeps you on track as you aren’t just bailing on yourself but you’re letting someone else down too if you don’t show up, and that’s just mean! I recommend giving it a try.

One thought on “Accountabili-buddies. The best thing since sliced bread. 

Leave a Reply

