“To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.” Same blog, new direction.

Or so Winston Churchill said. (Well, not the bit about the blog. Obvs.)

This blog is very different now from what it set out to be. When I first set it up, I had just found out we were moving to Canada and, as a result, I was going to be unemployed for a while until I found my feet. As can be seen by the first post, I set up the blog to try and make sure that I would get out and about and do things and not sleep all day. It seems I was scared that, without a job, I had no identity and therefore nothing would happen in my life. But I was wrong. Life happened. 

Quotes-On-Change-7-452x300

I have eventually realised that a job is not your identity –  for most people ultimately it is just something you do to pay the bills and if you are lucky, you enjoy it a bit as well. But I didn’t have anything else that I identified with at the time, I had no hobbies and nothing I was passionate about. But I was a teacher, that was what I would’ve said if anyone asked me what I did or what I was interested in. To be honest, I was in a rut.

Moving to Canada sparked a huge transformation for me. It came at a time in my life when I really needed something new to happen – although I didn’t know it in the moment. I wasn’t happy with my weight, I was working ridiculous hours in a job that I did love (teaching) but was having the fun zapped out of it by the red tape holding it together, and I didn’t really want to do anything else with my time. It also coincided with a few other huge life milestones – turning 30, getting married, changing career – and so, with all these factors colliding together at breakneck speed, something eventually was going to happen.

What happened was I became vegan and took up running – two things I am passionate about and spend most of my time and energy on now. Veganism is at the heart of everything I think and do, so much so that I have recently been appointed as a Director for the Vegan Lifestyle Association, which you can read more about in the link here.

Running is now something I do every day, it is a massive part of my life (and where most of my pay cheque goes!) and I am much the better person for it, health wise and happiness wise. My identity now, if you asked me, is a vegan and a runner. I could fill my days ten times over with both of these things if I didn’t have a job.

So, having changed as a person so much since I started this blog, it is inevitable that the topics I talk about have shifted, too. For one thing, I am now back in London so don’t need to blog about what I’m up to every day! Also, if you look back at some of the early posts, I’m in a steakhouse!! I’ve learnt a lot about myself, what I care about and what I believe in and I want to share this with the world.  So naturally, the focus for the blog is now on veganism and running and I’ll also be writing about what I care about and what I have learnt on my journey so far. I’m sorry if you no longer feel that it is for you. Feel free to unsubscribe if my ramblings are a bit boring to you now, I won’t be offended! (But I hope you’ll stay!)

So it seems that whilst I was so worried that nothing that mattered would happen in my life if I didn’t have a job, because I wasn’t anyone, actually taking my foot off the gas and stepping out of the rat race which I thought defined me actually meant that I was able to sit back a bit and let life itself happen. And with that, I worked out what does matter. To me, anyway.

I have no doubt that without making the massive change to move to Canada, that the other changes which came with it wouldn’t have taken place.

So, on Canada Day, I would like to say ‘thank you, Canada, you helped me find myself!’

6 thoughts on ““To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.” Same blog, new direction.

  1. Tom from spiced! says:

    Great post Suzanne! I can’t speak for everyone of course but as someone who overthinks things a lot and who finds it very difficult to be succinct (case in point: this comment has taken me about 20 minutes to write) I personally really enjoy reading long emotional rambles. And I can completely understand the happiness you get from devoting a lot of your money to something you love; retail therapy can be great!

    Would you say you enjoy the act of running itself or do you enjoy the challenge and the feeling afterwards? I run very infrequently these days but I used to run a lot and – apart from on rare occasions – I sadly only got enjoyment from the latter rather the former. On the plus side I now exercise by lifting weights which I love.

    Anyway I only just found your blog thanks to Chantal at the VLA so I look forward to reading more of your rambles in future!

    • Suzanne says:

      Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to comment, too! I’m glad Chantal pointed you in my direction!

      I’d have to say that I really enjoy all aspects of running, the challenge and the feeling afterwards were the best bits when I started out but now I enjoy the act of running just as much. It is ‘my’ time where I either listen to a podcast, to music or let my thoughts rattle around and, as I run quite early (5am some days, depending on distance) it is so quiet that I feel like I’ve been let in on this secret part of the day when everyone else is asleep. Plus, I love that I see foxes, rabbits and other wildlife wandering around at that time, too!

      I think as well it is important to find the exercise you love to make it a pleasure rather than a chore, like you have with weights. Everyone has their thing.

      I’ve just had a snoop around your blog, too. I see you are a fan of the NFL. Me too, having lived in North America for 2 years I love MLB and NBA as well. Who is your team – I’m a Ravens fan. 🙂

      • Tom from spiced! says:

        Listening to music is indeed great with exercise. What do you typically like to listen to when you’re running? I also agree that really early morning runs are the best, even if it wouldn’t fit in at all with my current sleep pattern! I used to go running every Saturday at about 5am and I loved how peaceful it was. As with any run the hardest part was getting up and getting out the door, especially when it was really cold (God knows how I got out of bed when it was -5°C!)

        That’s so cool that you’re a vegan NFL fan as well because beyond you, me and my brother there can’t be that many of us in this country! How and when did you get into it?

        I assume you’re a Ravens fan because you lived in Baltimore for a period of time? I don’t hate them (in fact I was very happy that they beat the 49ers in Super Bowl XLVII!) but they’re not one of my favourite teams either; the Bengals are probably my 2nd favourite team and my brother’s a Steelers fan so I’ve warmed to them over the years. As for me I’m a Chiefs fan.

        I’ve enjoyed baseball and basketball when I’ve watched them but given the ridiculous number of games in a season I wouldn’t be able to properly commit to it. How do you manage it? Or do you not set yourself unrealistic expectations of trying to watch every game?

  2. Tom from spiced! says:

    Listening to music is indeed great with exercise. What do you typically like to listen to when you’re running? I also agree that really early morning runs are the best, even if it wouldn’t fit in at all with my current sleep pattern! I used to go running every Saturday at about 5am and I loved how peaceful it was. As with any run the hardest part was getting up and getting out the door, especially when it was really cold (God knows how I got out of bed when it was -5°C!)

    That’s so cool that you’re a vegan NFL fan as well because beyond you, me and my brother there can’t be that many of us in this country! How and when did you get into it?

    I assume you’re a Ravens fan because you lived in Baltimore for a period of time? I don’t hate them (in fact I was very happy that they beat the 49ers in Super Bowl XLVII!) but they’re not one of my favourite teams either; the Bengals are probably my 2nd favourite team and my brother’s a Steelers fan so I’ve warmed to them over the years. As for me I’m a Chiefs fan.

    I’ve enjoyed baseball and basketball when I’ve watched them but given the ridiculous number of games in a season I wouldn’t be able to properly commit to it. How do you manage it? Or do you not set yourself unrealistic expectations of trying to watch every game?

Leave a Reply

