New Year, New Gear. Half Marathon Training – Update Three

Lots of things have kept me busy and stopped me sitting down to write a blog update for pretty much 4 months exactly. That includes turning 30, going to the UK for my brother’s wedding, going to Las Vegas for Christmas, starting a new job, volunteering, the list goes on. The good news is that I haven’t been too busy to actually run though and the training is still on track…”phew, that IS good news” I hear you say!

New Year, New Gear

This witty heading has a double meaning – 1) I am shifting up a gear to a new training schedule and 2) I actually bought new gear. Witty indeed. Looking back over 2014 and my new found love of running, I calculated that I clocked up 937 miles. I think that is something like the distance from London to Dundee and back again, give or take. I am hoping to smash that this year. Excited for the things to come, I went a bit crazy in the January sales and bought some new gear for the new year to spur me on and to make sure I am properly equipped to be running in these crazy Toronto temperatures.

New Year, New Gear

I am now following Hal Higdon’s half marathon training guides along with incorporating a lot of the very sound advice from the No Meat Athlete roadmap book and a strength/weights program alongside.

I am also hoping to raise some money through all this craziness and effort and I have chosen Dogs Trust for the first batch of races this year. If you have a spare pound and would like to donate, I would be very grateful and so would all the doggies they help. You can donate through my Just Giving page which you can find HERE.

So, there you have it. A very brief update for the New Year. I’ll try and be a bit better at updating this thing, but I’m not making any promises. Happy 2015!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Gear. Half Marathon Training – Update Three

Leave a Reply

