Life Out of The Box. A wonderful cause.

A little while ago I started to follow the blog for Life Out of The Box, a great social venture which provides school supplies to children in Nicaragua, Guatemala or Morocco in return for your purchase of a locally-made, hand woven bracelet. Not only does this mean that the children who need them most gain school supplies, but the production of the bracelets brings much needed work to artisans in these areas. I think it is a wonderful idea and I wanted to be a part of it.

So imagine how happy I was to receive my bracelet a few weeks ago, followed up with the exciting news of exactly who my (albeit small) contribution was helping! You see, this is the other great thing about it, when you receive your bracelet it comes with a unique number on it, which corresponds to the child your donation has supported. It makes it so much more than an anonymous, one-off contribution, which is often made to a charity to make us feel good about ourselves, and then forgotten. Now I know who received the school supplies and I even know a little bit about her – she is called Manuelas, she is from Guatemala, she is 12 years old and when she grows up she would like to be a tour guide. (CLICK HERE to see and read a bit more about her – I didn’t want to use the photos without permission, best to send you to the site directly instead! Maybe you might buy something whilst you are there.?!) What’s more, I can think about her when I wear the bracelet and hope that maybe I have made a teeny, tiny difference in her life.

IMG_3934

As a teacher, I am passionate about education and learning. I fully understand the importance of a good education. Everyone deserves one. Full stop. Money shouldn’t be able to buy you a better education, the best possible education should be provided to everyone as a basic human right. I truly believe this and it saddens me that it isn’t the case. So, if my measly donation can make a slight difference to someone who needs it, then why on earth not? If my contribution means that this young lady now has the means and tools to write and draw, then that works for me!

And it isn’t just bracelets for school supplies, they have a whole range of cool products from beanies and tank tops to key rings. The purchase of clothing items help provide 7 meals to someone in need. Another excellent exchange!

But don’t just take my word for it, please visit their page and see how you can support this wonderful venture. It’ll be worth it, I promise – LIFE OUT OF THE BOX

‘Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world” – Nelson Mandela

2 thoughts on “Life Out of The Box. A wonderful cause.

  1. lifeoutofthebox says:

    This is amazing Suzanne, thank you so much for your support. Your words touched us both. If it’s ok with you, we’d love to share your wonderful article with our readers as well. Let us know! 🙂 -Quinn & Jonathon

Leave a Reply

