Christmas is coming!

image (2)

We’ve had Thanksgiving, Halloween is over, Bonfire Night (for those who even know what on earth it is) has been and gone, and we have stopped to remember our troops and fallen heroes. The next important date on my calendar = Christmas! I love Christmas, it’s as simple as that.

This year I really want to try and do a full, home-made Christmas. I blame Pinterest 100%. I have lost many hours over the last week or so pinning stuff to my Christmas board, thinking how easy it looks to make this, that or the other and dreaming of a beautifully decorated home and elaborately (yet environmentally friendly) wrapped gifts and being able to say “oh, yeah, I made that, I’m glad you like it.”

I have home-made a few things recently, I made a canvas for the lounge and some pom poms for my aunt’s birthday party and both turned out to be acceptable;

Iphone 17th Sep 082

IMG_1718

Last Christmas I got as far as making some gingerbread men and some Cointreau mince pies, which were also pretty good;

iPhone Pictures 078

iPhone Pictures 080

And many, many years ago I made an advent calendar for our dog, Megan, because I felt she was missing out. I am sad to say I don’t have a picture of that, but it was made out of a cereal box and wrapping paper, you get the idea. So here’s a pic of Meggie in its place;

DSCF0802

At the time, I was certain it was the first dog advent calendar ever made and I was dead set on patenting it and cranking them out en mass. Turns out, there are lots of animal advent calendars and stockings on the market and I was quite late to that particular party.

Nonetheless, I have dipped my toe in the home-made pool and think this year is the perfect time to jump straight in. So, in honour of my little Meggie, I am going to start by trying my hand at another home-made advent calendar and see how that turns out. Perhaps something like this;

image (4)

I am seriously hoping the results will be more Martha Stewart than Blue Peter (you know Blue Peter, here’s one I made earlier, but when I say earlier, I will actually mean here is the one I went out and bought after I gave it a go and it looked like a 5-year-old had done it.)

I also really, really want to have a go at making my own Christmas wreath this year. I saw an amazing one on Pinterest, and the added bonus is that it looks like it should be idiot proof to make. It only needs a wire coat hanger and lots of baubles, which will give me the perfect excuse to go to Dollarama, not that I need any excuse to go in there* (see below.)

image (3)

I think I will start with these two and share the pictures as I go along. Hopefully I will be able to progress to the slightly more difficult projects I have earmarked when I get a bit more confidence. I am also planning to continue with my other ‘secret’ project which only my friend Allie knows about so far (I will share when it’s complete, I promise) and I am keen to see if I have it in me to do a homemade Christmas, or whether everyone will actually end up with something from the dollar store. Here’s hoping. And remember, if you don’t believe, you won’t receive!

image

*The overheard conversation I have for you today is not really overheard as I was part of it, and I have included the asterisk to tie it in nicely to the Dollarama mention above. For those of you who have me on Facebook you have probably already seen this, but I was stopped on the street randomly by a complete stranger and asked where the nearest dollar store was. As I mentioned to my lovely Facebook friends, either the word is spreading that I really do frequent the dollar store a lot, or I actually do look very, very cheap? Either way, perhaps I should really do something about it?

Leave a Reply

