Today is the first day of the rest of your life.

There are three main reasons for this blog, which are as follows;

a) At this really exciting life crossroads, this blog will encourage me to actually go out and do stuff so I have interesting things to tell people, rather than sleeping all day because I don’t know what else to do.

2) To practice writing to see if I actually enjoy it as much as I think I will. Perhaps I will then get round to writing something people will actually want to read, maybe a novel or a children’s story. I’ve been thinking about it for a while now anyway …

and d) it’s a cool thing to do, isn’t it?!

So, firstly, let me explain a few things. My name is Suzanne and I am so lucky to be moving from London to Toronto, Canada in a few weeks with my husband-to-be. I have no job lined up and it’s both exciting and scary that I can take this opportunity to do something I really want to do. Trouble is, I don’t know what that is.

What I do know is that this is my chance! And I have to make the most of it.

The name of my blog came from a piece of advice given to me in a card by my big brother when he found out about our move to the other side of the pond. The card read “growing older is compulsory but growing up is optional.” It really made an impression on me. I have to get older but I don’t have to grow up quite yet. So I decided to start this blog, for the reasons outlined above. I hope that whilst we are getting settled in Canada and I am finding my calling, that it will encourage me to get out and about, to explore, to meet people and take copious photographs, to laugh and ultimately to live a little.

So stick with me and see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

